Minutes of the Athens Township Annual Board of Reorganization Held August 5, 2013 at the Town Hall

Board members present: Barb Kilpatrick, John Bartz, Lyle Reynolds, David Beckstrom, Jan Palmer, Treasurer Marlys Balfany, Clerk Diane Carpenter, Staff Jim Braun

Guests: Steve Balfany, Cindy Reynolds, Curt Carpenter

Vice Chairman John Bartz called the Board of Reorganization Meeting to order at 7:00 PM and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

M/S Barb Kilpatrick/Lyle Reynolds to approve the minutes of the January 2013 Board of Reorganization meeting as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

Election of Chair:

M/S Lyle Reynolds/Barb Kilpatrick to nominate John Bartz as chair.

Nominations were closed.

Motion passed unanimously.

Election of Vice Chair:

M/S Barb Kilpatrick/John Bartz to nominate Lyle Reynolds as Vice Chair·
Nominations were closed·
Motion passed unanimously·

M/S Jan Palmer/David Beckstrom for committee appointments as follows for the rest of the year 2013.

Road Supervisor: David Beckstrom with John Bartz as alternate

Park Board Representative: Barb Kilpatrick with David Beckstrom as alternate

Planning and Zoning Representative: Lyle Reynolds with Jan Palmer as alternate

Fire Board Representative: Jan Palmer with John

Bartz as alternate

Town Hall Rental: Barb Kilpatrick

Gopher Machine: David Beckstrom

Emergency Contact: Barb Kilpatrick

Website: David Beckstrom and Lyle Reynolds

Township Issues: All Board Members

Motion passed unanimously.

M/S Lyle Reynolds/Barb Kilpatrick to approve the following designations:

The schedule of regular meetings of the Town Board will be the first Monday of every month unless it falls on a holiday. In this case, meetings will be held on the second Monday.

Planning Commission meetings will be held on the 3rd
Thursday of each month unless this falls on a holiday.

Park Board meetings will be held on the 4th Thursday of each month unless this falls on a holiday.

Fire Board meetings will be held on the 3rd Wednesday of every month unless this falls on a holiday.

Motion passed unanimously.

M/S Barb Kilpatrick/Jan Palmer that the official newspaper will be the Isanti County News and the posting place for notices will be the Athens Town Hall. The official banks will be Peoples Bank as the primary bank, with Landmark Bank and Community Pride Bank as alternates.

Motion passed unanimously.

M/S Lyle Reynolds/Jan Palmer to approve the following rates of pay:

Labor rate without authorization: \$10 hr (same as 2012)

Labor rate with prior authorization (including election judges) \$16 hr (same as 2012)

Labor rate with prior authorization when a chain saw is supplied \$21 hr (same as 2012)

Motion passed unanimously.

M/S Lyle Reynolds/David Beckstrom to use current IRS rates for mileage reimbursement. Current rate is \$0.565 per mile.

Motion passed unanimously.

M/S Barb Kilpatrick/Lyle Reynolds to accept the following rate: \$80 per hour with a one hour minimum to snowplow or grade private driveways. Motion passed unanimously.

M/S Lyle Reynolds/Jan Palmer that the salary schedule for the clerk and treasurer will be as follows:

Clerk salary \$660/month

Treasurer salary \$550/month

Motion passed unanimously:

M/S Barb Kilpatrick/Lyle Reynolds that the salary schedule for 2013 will be as follows:
\$90 per meeting for Town Officials with the Chairman receiving \$120 per Board Meeting
\$80 per meeting for the Planning Commission with Chairman receiving \$100 per meeting
Standard meeting per Diem of \$80 a meeting for the Deputy Clerk and Deputy Treasurer·
\$60 per meeting for the Park Board members with Chairman receiving \$80 per meeting·
Comp plan committee members \$50 per meeting
Motion passed unanimously·

M/5 Lyle Reynolds/Barb Kilpatrick to nominate Carolyn Braun as the representative to the Transportation Board (Northstar Rail) and the Highway 65 Group. David Beckstrom will be the primary and Jan Palmer the second alternate. Motion passed unanimously.

M/S Lyle Reynolds/John Bartz to pay \$40 per session for the recording of the minutes of the Planning Commission and Comp plan meetings and \$75 per hour for extra work by Carolyn Braun· Motion passed unanimously·

The date for the 2014 Board of Reorganization Meeting will be January 6, 2014 at 7:00 PM·

M/S Lyle Reynolds/John Bartz to adjourn the meeting at 7:25 PM· Motion passed unanimously·

Respectfully submitted,	
Diana Carpantar	Athens
Diane Carpenter	Hitheris
Township Clerk	
	Date