## Minutes of the Athens Township Annual Board of Reorganization Held January 7, 2013 at the Town Hall

Board members present: Dave Henderson, Barb Kilpatrick, John Bartz, Lyle Reynolds, David Beckstrom, Treasurer Marlys Balfany, Clerk Diane Carpenter, Staff Jim Braun

Guests: Steve Balfany, Cindy Reynolds, Kathy Beckstrom

Chairman Dave Henderson called the Board of Reorganization Meeting to order at 7:00 PM and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

M/S John Bartz/Lyle Reynolds to approve the minutes of the January 2012 Board of Reorganization meeting as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

Election of Chair:

M/S John Bartz/Barb Kilpatrick to nominate Dave Henderson as chair.

Nominations were closed.

Motion passed unanimously.

Election of Vice Chair:

M/S Barb Kilpatrick/Lyle Reynolds to nominate John

Bartz as Vice Chair·

Nominations were closed·

Motion passed unanimously·

M/S Lyle Reynolds/Barb Kilpatrick for committee appointments as follows for the year 2013.

Road Supervisor: Lyle Reynolds with Dave Henderson as alternate

Park Board Representative: Barb Kilpatrick with David Beckstrom as alternate

Planning and Zoning Representative: Lyle Reynolds with John Bartz as alternate

Fire Board Representative: John Bartz with Dave Henderson as alternate

Town Hall Rental: Barb Kilpatrick

Gopher Machine: Dave Henderson

Emergency Contact: Barb Kilpatrick

Website: Barb Kilpatrick and David Beckstrom

Township Issues: All Board Members

Motion passed unanimously.

M/S John Bartz/Lyle Reynolds to approve the following designations:

The schedule of regular meetings of the Town Board will be the first Monday of every month unless it falls on a holiday. In this case, meetings will be held on the second Monday.

Planning Commission meetings will be held on the 3<sup>rd</sup>
Thursday of each month unless this falls on a holiday.
Park Board meetings will be held on the 4<sup>th</sup> Thursday of each month unless this falls on a holiday.
Fire Board meetings will be held on the 3<sup>rd</sup> Wednesday of every month unless this falls on a holiday.
Motion passed unanimously.

M/S John Bartz/Lyle Reynolds that the official newspaper will be the Isanti County News and the posting place for notices will be the Athens Town Hall. The official banks will be Landmark Bank as the primary bank, with Peoples Bank of Commerce and Community Pride Bank as alternates.

Motion passed unanimously.

M/S Barb Kilpatrick/John Bartz to approve the following rates of pay:

Labor rate without authorization: \$10 hr (same as 2012)

Labor rate with prior authorization (including election judges) \$16 hr (same as 2012)

Labor rate with prior authorization when a chain saw is supplied \$21 hr (same as 2012)

Motion passed unanimously:

M/S John Bartz/Lyle Reynolds to use current IRS rates for mileage reimbursement. Current rate is \$0.565 per mile.

Motion passed unanimously.

M/S Dave Henderson/John Bartz to accept the following rate: \$80 per hour with a one hour minimum to snow plow or grade private driveways. Motion passed unanimously.

M/S Lyle Reynolds/John Bartz to reappoint Russ Mann and Craig Bjorklund to the Planning Commission.

Motion passed unanimously.

M/5 Barb Kilpatrick/David Beckstrom to replace David Beckstrom on the Park Board. Barb is taking

candidates into consideration. Motion passed unanimously.

M/S Dave Henderson/John Bartz that the salary schedule for the clerk and treasurer will be as follows: Clerk salary \$660/month
Treasurer salary \$550/month
This is a 5% increase over 2012.
Motion passed unanimously.

M/S Lyle Reynolds/Barb Kilpatrick that the salary schedule for 2013 will be as follows:

\$90 per meeting for Town Officials with the Chairman receiving \$120 per Board Meeting

\$80 per meeting for the Planning Commission with Chairman receiving \$100 per meeting

Standard meeting per Diem of \$80 a meeting for the Deputy Clerk and Deputy Treasurer

\$60 per meeting for the Park Board members with Chairman receiving \$80 per meeting.

Comp plan committee members \$50 per meeting

Motion passed unanimously.

M/S John Bartz/Lyle Reynolds to nominate Craig Bjorklund as the representative for the county EDA Board· Motion passed unanimously·

M/S Dave Henderson/John Bartz to nominate Carolyn Braun as the representative to the Transportation Board (Northstar Rail) and the Highway 65 Group. Dave Henderson will be the primary and Lyle Reynolds the second alternate. Motion passed unanimously.

M/S John Bartz/Lyle Reynolds to pay \$40 per session for the recording of the minutes of the Planning Commission and Comp plan meetings and \$75 per hour for extra work by Carolyn Braun· Motion passed unanimously·

The date for the 2014 Board of Reorganization Meeting will be January 6, 2014 at 7:00 PM·

M/S John Bartz/David Beckstrom to adjourn the meeting at 7:29 PM· Motion passed unanimously·

Respectfully submitted,

Diane Carpenter		Athens
Township Clerk		
	Date	